DEC 3-8, 2018


Kun-Pyo Lee

Dean-designate, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University School of Design ∙ Professor, Department of Industrial Design, KAIST ∙ HK / South Korea

Kun-Pyo Lee is dean-designate at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University School of Design, and professor at the Department of Industrial Design, KAIST, Korea where he also leads the Human-Centered Interaction Design Lab. He is founding member and president emeritus of IASDR (International Association of Design Research Societies), the largest international design research society. During his more than 30 years of experience he also worked as the head of the Corporate Design Center and executive vice president at LG Electronics.


He studied at Chung Ang University. (BFA), at the Institute of Design, IIT Institute of Technology (MS. Design), and at the Univ of Tsukuba (Ph.D. Design). His main research interests include design methodology, design planning, user-centered design, interaction design, and user-experience design. Recently he has been working on envisioning future design education, research and methods.


In addition to teaching and conducting research, Lee has worked on research projects with many of the world’s leading companies and organisations such as LG Electronics, Samsung Electronics, Johnson and Johnson, Volkswagen, Skyteam, and various governmental organisations. He has served on advisory boards of several organisations and journals in Korea and abroad. His research contribution is recognized with an honorary fellowship of the DRS, being appointed ‘local hero’ at CHI, and many best paper awards in conferences. He has been an invited keynote speakers and lecturer at over 150 conferences and institutions over the world.

Share to:

Eric Schuldenfrei

Founding Partner, ESKYIU ∙ Head of Department, Faculty of Architecture, HKU ∙ HK


Lou Yongqi

Dean ∙ College of Design and Innovation, Tongji University ∙ Mainland of China


Patrick le Quément

Co-founder & President of the Advisory Board ∙ The Sustainable Design School ∙ France


Martha Thorne

Executive Director, Pritzker Architecture Prize ∙ Dean, IE School of Architecture and Design ∙ US/Spain